Tinubu Asks Senate To Confirm 10 INEC RECs (Full List)

President Bola Tinubu has asked the Senate to screen and confirm 10 new Resident Electoral Commissioners for a term of five years.

The President’s request was contained in a letter read by the Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, at plenary on Tuesday.

The new RECs were appointed last week to serve in the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The newly appointed RECs are Etekamba Umoren (Akwa Ibom) Isah Shaka Ehimeakne (Edo) Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti) Abubakar Ahmed Ma’aji (Gombe) Shehu Wahab (Kwara) Prof. Mohammed Yelwa (Niger).

Others are Anugbum Onuoha (Rivers), Isma’ila Kaura Moyi (Zamfara), Bunmi Omoseyindemi (Lagos) and Aminu Kasimu Idris (Nasarawa).

Their appointment was greeted with controversies that some of them could be card-carrying members of the ruling All Progressives Congress and two others were also found to be long-term allies of prominent politicians serving in the Tinubu administration.

In the letter seeking the confirmation of the electoral commissioners, Tinubu asked the Senate to give his request expeditious consideration.

ALSO READ  Nigeria Ranks Eighth In Happiest African Countries


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here