PDP Board Of Trustees Member Defects To APC

Charles Idahosa, who was a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Board of the Trustees (BoT), has defected from the party to the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Edo State.


Idahosa, a former ally of the Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, defected from the APC to the PDP in 2021 along with Governor Obaseki.


Idahosa, who announced his defection to the APC on Monday in his residence where he was received back by leaders of the party, led by the secretary of the party, Lawrence Okah and other party leaders, said that he returned to the party to ensure victory for the APC in the September 21 governorship election in the state, Vanguard reports.


He reportedly said that one of his biggest mistakes was not to allow Governor Obaseki to resign when he was tired of the troubles he was getting from the leadership of the party.


Idahosa’s resignation comes amid a wave of defections from the PDP to the APC in recent times, especially since the 2023 general elections in Rivers, Enugu, Abia and other states.


In December 2023, no fewer than 27 members of the Rivers State House of Assembly on the platform of PDP defected to APC following the political crisis that ensued between the former governor and current Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Nyesom Wike and Governor Siminalayi Fubara.


In February, scores of members of the PDP in Ondo State including a former member of the state House of Assembly, Mr Tomide Akinribido, a former House of Representatives candidate of the PDP, Mr Dare Aliu, Dr Felder Olatunji, Olu Falolu, Ayodele Ikumawoyi, Pastor Olatunde Felix, Chief Pius Akinrinmola, among others defected to the APC.

ALSO READ  High Court Denies American Binance Executive, Gambaryan Bail


In March, Senator Chuka Utazi who represented Enugu North Senatorial District on the platform of PDP defected to APC in Enugu state and in April, loyalists of the immediate past governor of Abia State, Okezie Ikpeazu, defected from the PDP to the APC.


They included the Chief of Staff to the former governor, Anthony Agbazuere; a former Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Eze Chikamnayo, from Umunneochi; a former commissioner representing Abia State in the Niger Delta Development Commission, Chief Chimezie Okoronkwo; former Commissioner for Public Utilities, Chief Eze Nwanganga; former Commissioner in Abia State Oil Producing Area Development Commission, Chief Uzo Ihuka; former Commissioner for Environment, Chief Sam Nwogu, and a former chairman of ASOPADEC.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here