Anambra 2021: See The Past Governors Of Anambra State Since 1999

Anambra State is one of the states in the southeastern region of Nigeria.

It was created in 1991 but had initially existed since 1976 as part of the former East Central State.

The state, which got its name from one of its clans, Anam has its capital situated in Akwa but also boasts of other popular cities including Onitsha.

With just a few days to the scheduled November 6 governorship election in the state, TRUETELLS NIGERIA  has gone down memory lane to bring you a list of past democratically elected governors who have served in Anambra.

In total, the state has had five governors from two political parties.

Check out their names and parties as well as the time they served below.

Chinwoke Mbadinuju: (1999-2003) PDP

Chinwoke Mbadinuju

Chris Ngige: (2003-2006) PDP

Chris Ngige

Peter Obi: (2006-2006) APGA

Peter Obi Speaks On Contesting For 2023 Presidency

Peter Obi

Virginia Etiaba: ( 3 months between 2006-2007) APGA

Virginia Etiaba

Peter Obi: (2007-2014) APGA

Peter Obi

Willie Obiano: (2014 – till date) APGA

Some S/East Governors Are Behind Anambra Killings - Obiano

Gov Willie Obiano

With the tenure of Governor Willie Obiano set to expire in 2022, the people of Anambra State will on Saturday, 6th November 2021 head to the polls to choose a new Governor who will direct the affairs of the state for the next four years.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has promised to deliver a fair, credible, and peaceful election for the people of the state

ALSO READ  Labour Party Suspends Embattled Chairman, Julius Abure


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here